Personal Injury Protection Guidelines After An Accident
Every driver is required to purchase a personal injury protection insurance coverage after they have been involved in a car accident. Every person is required to have a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection coverage. Florida is a comparative negligence state. That is why many people wonder what they should do if they suffer an injury in a car accident while in Florida.
The laws in Florida can make it difficult to file a claim. If you have been injured in an accident and the injuries are serious, then the first thing that you will need to do is file a claim with your own insurance company. Personal injury protection coverage will pay for the financial losses and medical bills up to the limit.
Florida put the personal injury protection law in place in 1971. The purpose of the law was to ensure people who were injured in an accident received prompt and fair payment. People often call this a no-fault system because you do not have to establish fault in order to get coverage.
However, it is important to note that the no-fault system does not cover vehicle damage that is done as the result of an accident. It also does not cover pain and suffering, which are considered non-monetary damages. You will need to file a claim against the responsible party’s insurance company.
If you have suffered serious and permanent damages, then you will need to file against the other person’s insurance company. Because Florida is a comparative negligence state, the jury or judge will determine how much compensation you get by determining your percentage of liability.
Here is an example of how this can work. The total cost of the damages in the accident were $10,000. However, you are found to be 20 percent responsible for the accident. You will only be able to receive $8,000.
The Florida Senate introduced a bill that would allow drivers to go without personal injury protection coverage in March 2018. However, the bill never passed. It has been postponed indefinitely.
If you want to know more about the personal injury protection insurance requirements, then you will need to contact an attorney. Your lawyer will also be able to tell you about the rights that you have if you have been injured in an accident. We have a reputation for providing excellent service. We also have a proven track record of success.